Do function objects have to be inline?

Hi,
I’m just getting started with SYCL and I’m trying to integrate it into an existing application. I created a function object that uses another class internally. If I inline both classes it works fine, but trying to separate header and implementation (as commonly done in C++) fails at run time because the implementation is not found by the kernel.

According to the Integration Guide, any file containing a kernel will be parsed by the compute++ compiler to generate the integration header. But how do I tell it to also parse the other .cpp files for code that is relevant to the kernel? I am using CMake.

Hi marek,
I’m afraid that is not possible, you need to have all your source in the same translation unit.

To add some more information for this following some discussions about how this could be done.

Right now, the ComputeCpp compiler requires that all classes/functions used in the context of a kernel to be visible in the same translation unit (a.k.a .cpp file) however this is possible using unity builds. This SO question may give you some good information about unity builds.

Thanks Rod! Looks like you are very serious about that “single source” thing :slight_smile:

I’ll have a look into whether a unity build might be feasible for my project but I assume it will create quite a few issues with namespaces and double definitions. As to how to integrate it into the compiler I guess the easiest solution would be to give it the .cpp files as additional input files and parse them for functions that appear in the kernels. Consider this a feature request. :slight_smile:

Hi Marek,
The team is aware of the effort it might take to implement this feature - sadly, it is a really tough one to crack. If and when we do implement it, we’ll definitely be talking about it, so keep an eye on the patch notes.