ComputeCpp not building in Visual Studio 2017

Hi,

I am new to ComputeCpp and Sycl.
I am trying to get it up and running in my Windows 10 PC using Visual Studio 2017, but facing problems.
Can you please help?

Basically I did the following:

1. Downloaded the community edition of ComputeCpp and installed it
  2. Installed CMake.
  3. Installed the OpenCL sdk from Intel

Next,
I created a new project in Visual Studio 2017 using the ComputeCpp Sycl C++ project template.
In the Property Pages, I set the following:
General / Windows SDK Version = 10.0.17134.0 (it was 8.1 by default)
General / Platform Toolset = Visual Studio 2017 (v141) (I do not have Visual Studio 2015)

When I build using the Visual Studio IDE, I get this error:
Severity Code Description Project File Line Suppression State
Error MSB4019 The imported project ā€œC:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Enterprise\Common7\IDE\VC\VCTargets\BuildCustomizations\ComputeCpp.propsā€ was not found. Confirm that the path in the declaration is correct, and that the file exists on disk.

Please tell me if I am doing anything wrong.
How can I get it to build and run properly?

thanks,
Raj

Hi @raj,

Iā€™ve not really used Visual Studio for a while but searching for that error code does find some hits, Iā€™m not sure if theyā€™re useful or not. To make sure that everything is working as we expect, would you be able to try to use CMake to set up a project?

If you download one of our GitHub projects and try to configure that, that should let us know if everything is working correctly. There are instructions in that repo but in short:

cmake -G "Visual Studio 15 2017" -A x64

should configure things correctly. Iā€™m not sure what this would look like if youā€™re using the CMake GUI. If you try this, hopefully that will give us some more information.

Best regards,
Duncan.

Hi Duncan,
Thanks for helping.